Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Tuesday marks last chance to register to vote for general election

Tuesday will mark the final day that Baxter County voters can register to vote in this years general election.

People looking to vote during this year’s elections in Arkansas must be U.S. citizens and reside in the state. Voters must also be 18 or older to vote and must register to vote before the cut-off date.

Residents with a felony criminal conviction or who have been judged to be mentally incompetent are not allowed to vote.

Voters must fill out a paper application to register to vote. Applications can be obtained from the following: county clerks, local revenue offices, public libraries, or online at Applications must be filled out and returned by mail or in-person to a County Clerk.

New residents or new voters in Baxter County can visit the Baxter County Clerk’s Office at the Baxter County Courthouse in Mountain Home to register to vote or update their information.

Applications are available in English or Spanish.

There are currently three ways to cast a ballot in Arkansas. Voters can vote through an absentee ballot, in-person during the early voting period, or in-person on election day.

Absentee ballots must be requested through the Baxter County Clerk. Voters qualify to vote via absentee ballot if they will be absent, are ill, are disabled, or are temporarily living outside the United States but permanently residing in Baxter County. Ballots are only available in English. Voters can bring someone with them to help translate. Electronic machines are used for voting on Election Day. Paper is used for absentee voting and sometimes for early voting.

Arkansas state law requires voters to show a photo ID when voting in person. People voting with an absentee ballot must also include a copy of their photo ID.

Voting is still allowed without a photo ID, but the vote will not be counted until an ID is brought to election officials. Voters have until noon on the Monday following the election to show their photo ID in person to the county clerk or county board of election commissioners. Election workers will ask voters for their name, address, and photo ID at voting locations.

Photo IDs you can use to vote include:

  •       Arkansas driver’s license or state ID card
  •         U.S. Passport
  •         U.S. Military ID
  •         Employee badge or ID issued by Arkansas college or university
  •         Concealed handgun carry license
  •         Public assistance identification card
  •         Voter verification photo ID card issued by County Clerk

Early voting for the General Election will start on Monday, Oct. 24 thru Friday, Nov. 4, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday (Oct. 26 and Nov. 5) polls will be open from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Monday, Nov. 7, polls will open at 8 a.m. and close at 5 p.m.

Early Voting locations will be:

Baxter County Courthouse- 1 East 7th., Mountain Home

Twin Lake Plaza- 759 Business Hwy 62 E, Mountain Home

Election Commission Headquarters-213 E 5th St., Mountain Home

November 8, General Election Day polls open at 7:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. at the following locations and addresses:

  1. Baxter County Courthouse, 1 East 7th St. Mountain Home, AR.72653
  2. Big Flat, Big Flat City Hall, Hwy 14, Big Flat, AR. 72951
  3. Eastside Baptist Church, 718 East 9th St., Mountain Home, AR. 72653
  4. Henderson Fire Station, 12487 Hwy 62 East, Henderson, AR. 72544
  5. Lakeview City Hall, 14 Skyles Lane, Lakeview, AR
  6. Lone Rock Baptist Church, 6726 Push Mountain Road, Norfork, AR 72658
  7. Midway Safety Training Center, 170 Dillard Drive, Midway, AR. 72651
  8. Northeast Lakeside Fire Station, 5482 Hwy 62 East, Mountain Home, AR.72653
  9. Norfork First Baptist Church, 36 Second St., Norfork, AR.72658
  10. Salesville Community Center, 46 Gillespie St., Salesville, AR. 72653
  11. Twin Lakes Plaza, 729 Business Hwy 62 East., Mountain Home, AR. 72653 (behind Hobby Lobby)
  12. Wesley United Methodist Church, 179 Memory Lane, Cotter, AR.72626
  13. Election Commission Headquarters, 213 E. 5th ST., Mountain Home, AR 72653

A list of appointed election officials, deputy clerks or additional deputies hired to conduct the early voting can be located on the door of the Baxter County & Circuit Clerk’s office beginning Friday, Oct. 7

Any person who makes an objection to the service of a designated poll worker must make it known to the County Board of Election Commissioners within seven calendar days. The deadline for objections must be received before the date of the election.


Baxter County Election Commissioners                                      Judy Garner

Baxter County Courthouse                               (or call)               479-755-5412

1 East 7th St.

Mountain Home, AR 72653    

Votes will be tabulated at the Baxter County Courthouse after the closing of the polls on Election Day.

Hearings will be held for Provisional Ballots that are rejected on the following Monday, Nov. 14, from 10 a.m. till noon.

The deadline to register to vote in the Primary Runoff Election was Oct.9.

Sample Ballots are available online at

Local Mountain Home, AR News

© 2022 Mountain Home Observer. All Rights Reserved.